Musings: DIY and the Twitter Generation

Image

It’s funny how this recession is re-teaching us all of the things our grandparents and great grandparents already knew.  Grow your own gardens, make your own beer, and cook for yourself.  Do what you can to save money.  I remember my ex-grandmother –in-law used to tell me that her mother used to refer to leftovers as “money in the bank.”  With so many banks going under it’s easy to see why this old wisdom is becoming so prevalent again.

Doing things on your own is rewarding.  Think of when you were a kid and the first time you made yourself breakfast.  It was amazing food even though it was the same bowl of trix you’d had every morning.  I think that raising your own tomatos or canning your own pickles feels good because you once again have that fresh sense of accomplishment.  When so many things are messed up and hard in life, why not fix the fence yourself?  Too bad it took a financial slide south for so many people to realize this.

I think this is part of why I’m so drawn to self publishing the two stories I’m rewriting.  I feel like by doing this I can see the results of what I’ve sewn all the faster.  Mind you that’s another thing that is funny about my generation on down.  We like things to be really instant.  It’s double funny when you think about the fact that gardening, pickling, raising chickens, and making your own food won’t pay off instantly.   Is the twitter generation learning patience?  Maybe this is a good thing.

6 Responses to “Musings: DIY and the Twitter Generation”

  1. Love your garden, and you are so right about the rest.

  2. My grandparents were adults during the Great Depression, and growing up around them taught me a lot about taking care of myself.

    And I think that everyone has the ability to survive when things get rough, even if they have never had to do without. Survival is something we are all born with, but we just grow lazy because of all the modern conveniences.

Leave a Reply

